Song A Day Challenge: My Favorite Soundtracks (Day 4)

The-Dark-Knight-Rises-7_0For day 4 of the Song A Day Challenge, I knew I wanted to pick a track from one of my other favorite film composers, Hans Zimmer. However, Zimmer has written music for so many iconic movies — “Gladiator,” “Pirates of the Caribbean,” the Dark Knight trilogy, and more — that it was tough to narrow it down to one track.

Since my husband Aaron and I have been working through our Christopher Nolan blog-a-thon project, I decided to go with a song from “The Dark Knight Rises” called “Why Do We Fall?” It’s probably my favorite moment in the whole Dark Knight trilogy, where Bruce Wayne finally summons all his strength and climbs up out of the pit where he’s been imprisoned. I love how the music keeps building and building to this epic finish that really captures Bruce’s triumph over his demons:

Another thing I like about Zimmer as a composer is that he has a very distinctive style and I can almost always pick out his music in a film. Yet even though his music always has a certain sound, I love that he’s willing to experiment, such as the majestically organ-heavy music for “Interstellar” to the quirky, slightly out-of-tune theme for Guy Ritchie’s steampunk “Sherlock Holmes,” in this bonus track:

What are some of your favorite soundtracks from Hans Zimmer?

Thanks again to Bradscribe for nominating me to take on the Song A Day Challenge!

9 thoughts on “Song A Day Challenge: My Favorite Soundtracks (Day 4)

  1. Certainly Zimmer has a distinctive style – perhaps a tad dreary – but yes, th glorious score he did for th Bat trilogy is 1 of his triumphs
    My personal fave of his soundtracks was for King Arthur (2004) – a case of th music being superior to th film itself!
    Whatever NEXT, Ash?!
    Cheers!

    • Oh yeah, I had forgotten about King Arthur! I believe I have that soundtrack; you are right, it was better than the movie! I’m planning to make my final Song A Day Challenge post this evening…I think you’ll enjoy the final pick! 😉

      • I enjoy everything u put up here (in th fullness of time of course)!
        U’ve made me want to put on Daft Punk’s TRON soundtrack, so that will sustain me while I await your Next Post
        Cheers!

Leave a Reply

