Song A Day Challenge: My Favorite Soundtracks (Day 1)

wallup.netThank you to Bradscribe for nominating me to take on the Song A Day Challenge! The rules are you have to post a song a day for five consecutive days. Since I love movies so much, I thought it would be fun to do songs from film soundtracks.

My first song isn’t much of a surprise: “The Imperial March” from “Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back.” 😉 John Williams is my all-time favorite film composer, and it was tough to pick out my favorite song from his Star Wars movie scores. But I finally had to go with “The Imperial March.” It’s a simple but powerful song that conveys the might and threat of the Empire. The Star Wars movies wouldn’t have the same impact without Williams’ iconic score.

Let me know if you’d like to join in the Song A Day Challenge; I’d love to hear your favorite songs as well!

11 thoughts on “Song A Day Challenge: My Favorite Soundtracks (Day 1)

  1. My favorite Soundtrack is still Blade Runner. There is a song on it called Ruby My Dear by Thelonious Monk. It fits so well in the movie, for a long time I thought Ryuichi Sakamoto wrote it. Other great movie songs (from a classic sources) are Flight of Valkyrie from Apocalypse Now (from Wagner’s Ring). Singing in the Rain from A Clockwork Orange (sung in a less whimsical way than in the musical) and Stuck in the Middle With You from Reservoir Dogs (also in a grim context). It’s hard to pick a favorite but if I had to it would Always Look on the Bright Side of Life from Monty Python’s Life of Brian. An original song by Eric Idle. You’ve chosen an original composition from John Williams and so many of his themes would be in my top 10. Raiders, Star Wars. And don’t get me started on Musicals. I can’t even begin to… I can’t. There’s way too many.

    • There are so many good songs to pick from in the history of film, and you mentioned some great ones! It’s hard to believe how many iconic pieces John Williams has produced in his career. The movies he scored were already good movies, but his film scores make them truly great. It’s amazing how much music can add to the experience of watching a film and totally shift your perspective of a scene (like using an upbeat song in a dark moment).

      • Rocky theme just came to mind as a great one. Speaking of John Williams the ET theme brought me to tears first time I saw that movie.

      • That’s another good one! There are several of Williams’ themes that always make me teary; his Jedi/Force theme that shows up in the Star Wars movies always moves me, particularly when used with Darth Vader dying to save Luke.

  2. Hey, hey hey!
    Was having 1 of those Admiral-Ozzel-came-out-of-lightspeed-too-close-to-the-system days until I saw this Post!
    My father wld always ALWAYS stomp to this whenever it’s 1st played in Empire
    Thank u, Ash, now I feel like I cld take on th Empire all by myself (again!)
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

