A ‘Marvel-ous’ list: An updated ranking of my favorite Marvel Cinematic Universe films

669681The last time I ranked the Marvel Cinematic Universe films was October 2015, and since then I’ve been thinking about where to put Marvel’s two newest movies — “Captain America: Civil War” and “Doctor Strange.” So I’ve decided to create a new master list of the MCU films and I’ll just update this list as the movies come out, so I won’t have to keep creating separate blog posts. 😉 “Civil War” and “Doctor Strange” ended up landing fairly high on my list, and a few other films shifted around. The more I watch some of the newer movies, like “Ant-Man,” the more I love them.

1. Iron Man (2008)

“Guardians of the Galaxy” is so close to taking over my No. 1 spot, but for now the original “Iron Man” just can’t be beat. This is the movie that made Iron Man my favorite superhero and Robert Downey Jr. my favorite actor.

2. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

3. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

4. Captain America: Civil War (2016)

“The Winter Solider” and “Civil War” are really close, and repeat viewings may vault “Civil War” into the No. 3 spot. However, right now it’s hard to top “The Winter Soldier’s” blend of the superhero and political thriller genres, and the tough questions it asks about what’s more important: freedom or security.

5. The Avengers (2012)

6. Doctor Strange (2016)

I thought Benedict Cumberbatch was the perfect choice to play Marvel’s psychedelic sorcerer, Doctor Strange. It’s exciting to see more cosmic and magical elements being added to the MCU, and I’m really looking forward to watching everything come together in “Infinity War.”

7. Ant-Man (2015)

“Ant-Man” actually moved up a slot on my list. This is a fun, entertaining heist flick with Marvel flair. Paul Rudd was great in the lead role, and I also loved his cameo in “Civil War.”

8. Iron Man 3 (2013)

9. Thor (2011)

10. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)

11. Iron Man 2 (2010)

12. The Incredible Hulk (2008)

13. Thor: The Dark World (2013)

14. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)

I think objectively speaking, “Age of Ultron” isn’t the worst Marvel movie. However, I do have to confess that it has become my least favorite. It’s the only MCU movie I don’t own, simply due to the fact I would choose to watch all the other films on the list before this one. Maybe it’s because the hype was too high or the film turned out differently than I thought it would. I still love you, Joss Whedon!

I’d love to hear what you think: what MCU films have risen — or fallen — on your personal list? Where do “Doctor Strange” and “Civil War” rank for you?

6 thoughts on “A ‘Marvel-ous’ list: An updated ranking of my favorite Marvel Cinematic Universe films

  1. Great List. I think I have my top three. Incredible Hulk, Doctor Strange, Winter Soldier. Then it gets murky. Guardians, Avengers & Civil War are all tied for fourth. Then Iron Man, Ant-man and the first Captain America all sharing seventh. After that I don’t know. The Thor movies are okay (Love Natalie and Kat loads), Iron Man 2 is okay (mostly because of Gwen and Robert’s chemistry). But Iron Man 3 and Ultron, although not as bad as they seemed after my first viewing, don’t even make my list. Can’t wait for Hulk, Thor and Doctor Strange team-up. That’s some real power right there. And crossing my fingers for Spiderman to be something different than the other five movies. Disney took over Star Wars, Star Trek and Marvel and they are making magic.

    • At first I wasn’t too excited for another Spider-Man reboot, but I loved his cameo in Civil War and now I’m on board. Like you, I hope they can bring us something different and fun. I’m really, really hoping we’ll get to see decent screen time of Hulk, Thor and Doctor Strange doing stuff together. I think that’ll be a lot of fun!

    • My list of favorite Marvel Cinematic Universe movies is always shifting around, so many good ones! 😉 Guardians and Captain America: Winter Soldier are sooo close to taking over the top slot.

Leave a Reply

