The ‘super’ list: My top 10 favorite superheroes

569d97ad7aa39-imageI was very excited to see Entertainment Weekly’s latest issue in my mailbox, which includes their ranking of the 50 most powerful superheroes. Seeing their list inspired me to put together a list of my own, with my top 10 favorite superheroes from movies and TV. I’d also love to hear who your top superheroes are!

10. Spider-Man

Although he’s one of the most famous superheroes, Spidey is also one of the more unconventional. He’s an ordinary teenager impacted by an extraordinary event: a bite from a radioactive spider that gives him superhuman powers. So far, Andrew Garfield is my favorite Spider-Man while the Sam Raimi films are my favorite Spidey movies overall. However, that could change with the upcoming “Spider-Man: Homecoming.” Tom Holland had a fantastic cameo as the character in “Captain America: Civil War” and just might become my favorite version of Spider-Man.

9. Black Panther

I didn’t know a lot about Black Panther before this summer’s “Captain America: Civil War,” but I’m very excited to see this character join the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Chadwick Boseman brought a sense of strength and nobility to the role, and the character adds a fresh perspective to the Avengers team.

8. Wonder Woman

I’m waiting to see how DC’s upcoming Wonder Woman movie will turn out, but I’m thinking this character will end up moving up my list of favorite superheroes, based on her brief but exciting role in “Batman v. Superman.” She’s a smart, strong warrior who just about steals the movie from Batman and Superman. 😉 I’m excited to learn more about her in her solo film next year.

7. Batman

There have been many incarnations of this character, but my favorite remains Christian Bale’s take in Christopher Nolan’s superhero masterpiece, the Dark Knight trilogy. Batman is definitely one of the darker superheroes, and Gotham, the city he fights to protect, sometimes seems like it’s too far gone to save. However, Batman refuses to abandon it in its hour of need, and the Caped Crusader is a beacon of light in Gotham’s darkness.

6. Daredevil/Punisher

This is sort of cheating but I ended up with 11 superheroes instead of 10 as I made my list and couldn’t decide which of these two to leave out. 😉 I really love Netflix’s Daredevil show, and while the second season wasn’t *quite* as good, the parts with the Punisher were very strong. I really like the contrast between these characters and the very different ways they pursue justice. Both are compelling, thanks to great performances from Charlie Cox and Jon Bernthal.

5. Arrow

While the past couple seasons of The CW’s “Arrow” have divided fans, I’m still a fan of the character and the show. The second season remains a highlight, with its dark, gritty take on Oliver Queen’s conflicted vigilante. Oliver struggles to do the right thing but has to keep fighting demons from his past. While he has some similarities to Batman (rich playboy who moonlights as a superhero), his five years off the grid — where he learned how to be a fighter and a survivor — make this character stand out.

4. Magneto

Although sometimes he’s more of a villain, Magneto still makes my top superheroes list because I think deep down he does want to do the right thing (Michael Fassbender’s take on the character in the X-Men prequel series often paints him as a misguided anti-hero). His tragic background has made him suspicious of others, and he fears persecution of mutants. Although he and Professor X don’t always see eye-to-eye, they will always remain friends, at least at some level.

3. Black Widow

The top 3 superheroes on my list are all Avengers, which I’m sure surprises no one since I’m quite vocal about my love for the MCU. 😉 While I think Black Widow is overdue for her own standalone film, I really like what they’ve done with the character in the team-up movies. Black Widow’s background as a spy and assassin make her an intriguing addition to the Avengers line-up, and she’s more comfortable delving into moral gray areas than some of the other characters.

2. Captain America

I don’t necessarily agree with Captain America’s actions in “Civil War,” but I can 100 percent understand and respect how he got there. He’s not afraid to risk everything to defend his principals, and he’ll do anything he can to save his friends. This character could have easily come across as self-righteous and one-dimensional, but Chris Evans adds a lot of nuance to the role as the Cap struggles to adjust to life in a different time, where right and wrong aren’t so black and white.

1. Iron Man

Admittedly, Iron Man is probably my all-time favorite superhero since Robert Downey Jr. is my all-time favorite actor. 😉 But the first “Iron Man” movie started my love for superhero films and I liked Iron Man because he brought something new to the superhero genre. He’s smart, funny, and reveals his own secret identity. He doesn’t have any super powers but builds an awesome suit that allows him to more than hold his own with the rest of the Avengers.

9 thoughts on “The ‘super’ list: My top 10 favorite superheroes

  1. Great list, Ashley! Spider-Man will always be my favorite super-hero. I liked Tom Holland as Peter Parker in Civil War so hopefully that means good things for Spider-Man: Homecoming. RDJ makes a great Tony Stark. Really making the character his own and influencing his comic counterpart. I would have to give a shout out to Grant Gustin’s Flash. As much as I like Arrow, The Flash has been a more consistently solid series.

    • Thank you! 🙂 The Flash is good too, though I still need to catch up on that series as I’ve only seen the first season. If my list was a little longer, Ant-Man, Falcon and more of the X-Men would have been included also. Too many too choose from! 🙂

  2. It’s a fun time to be a fan of superhero movies and tv shows! Lots of good superheroes to choose from and more coming soon. I’m excited for the Wonder Woman solo film and Blank Panther movie. The great Captain America movies make Steve Rogers high on my list, of course, RDJ as Iron Man is excellent. Great list!

  3. Never thot about doing my own list – there wld b no room for Spidey or Daredevil, anyway!
    Never liked Cap America until I saw th movies – have enjoyed catching up w back ishs of th Avengers.
    Matter-Eater Lad (a member of DC’s Legion of Super-Heroes) not only has th best supername ever, he is practically my alter-ego!
    Fun list, Ash, thanks!
    Enjoy th Dr Strange movie this weekend – I’m sure Bennybatch will make u want to revise this super list! 😉
    Cheers!

    • I’d love to see your own list of favorite superheroes. So many to choose from! I may have to do a revised list, as Benedict Cumberbatch is one of my favorite actors and I’m sure I’ll have to make a place here for Doctor Strange. 🙂

  4. Great list!But I will put black widow in number one,captain America in number two,Scarlet witch in number three.And then I will have the justice league except batman and cyborg

Leave a Reply

