A Star Wars fan’s ‘new hope’: ‘The Force Awakens’ hits theaters today

Star-Wars-Force-AwakensWell, this is it — today’s the big day. “Star Wars: The Force Awakens” starts sneak preview showings tonight in theaters. I’ve got my ticket, and somehow I’ve got to get through an eight-hour workday today without exploding out of my chair in excitement. 😉 Fans have been waiting a long time for this moment. It’s been a decade since the last Star Wars movie, and more than 30 years since the original trilogy ended. We’ve always wondered what happened to Han, Luke, and Leia after that seemingly decisive victory on the moon of Endor. Now we get to find out.

I know I’ve probably gone a bit overboard on the Star Wars posts this month, but I can’t seem to stop thinking about Star Wars today. 😉 I thought I might as well write one more reflection to help pass the time!

I remember wondering if it was all a hoax when Disney announced they had purchased Lucasfilm back in 2012 and would be producing more Star Wars films. I was really excited (hooray for more Star Wars!) but also really nervous, because what if I got my hopes built up too high and Disney dropped the ball? However, the early teasers looked good. The original cast was back, and one of my favorite directors, J.J. Abrams, was at the helm.

I told myself I wasn’t going to get all worked up, and that I needed to temper my excitement. As you can probably guess, that didn’t work out so well, and when they released that epic, full-length trailer a couple months ago, with the mysterious voice bidding, “The Force is calling to you — let it in,” I was sold.

Part of me is still a little sad Disney decided not to follow along with the storylines already developed in the Expanded Universe novels, because those books contained some truly great characters we’ll probably now never get to see onscreen. But I’m fully willing to embrace this new storyline and these new characters we’ll get to see in “The Force Awakens.” I’m grateful I’ve been able to avoid pretty much any major spoilers, but it’s been fun theorizing what the plot will cover.

The prequels have long been a contentious topic for Star Wars fans, and probably always will be. However, I think fans are ready to put that all behind them, and it’s time for a fresh start. I told myself I wasn’t going to peek at any reviews for “The Force Awakens,” but I couldn’t help myself and risked a look at Rotten Tomatoes yesterday. My face lit up as I saw a 97 percent positive rating, and I scrolled through the list of review summaries just long enough to see that one writer had called it the best Star Wars movie since “The Empire Strikes Back.” That’s all I needed to know.

“The Force Awakens” is finally here — and I’m ready.

2 thoughts on “A Star Wars fan’s ‘new hope’: ‘The Force Awakens’ hits theaters today

  1. Today’s th big day, indeed. It seemed like we wld b waiting forever, but it’s amazing how fast this yr has fled.
    “Gone a bit overboard”? Not at all! 😉
    Enjoy th movie – trust me, I know u will
    Ready, Jedi, GO!

Leave a Reply

