Marvel Blog-a-thon: Wrap-up and revised ranking

avengers-dvd002Well, this officially wraps up my Marvel blog-a-thon. I hadn’t ever done a blog-a-thon before but it turned out to be a lot of fun, and I’d like to thank everyone who followed along. After re-watching all the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies, I found my new ranking didn’t change a lot from the old one. Here’s the revised rank:

1. Iron Man (2008)
2. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
3. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
4. The Avengers (2012)
5. Iron Man 3 (2013)
6. Ant-Man (2015)
7. Thor (2011)
8. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
9. Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015)
10. Iron Man 2 (2010)
11. The Incredible Hulk (2008)
12. Thor: The Dark World (2013)

The top three were really tough. “Guardians of the Galaxy” and “The Winter Soldier” are so close to being my favorite Marvel movie, but it’s hard for me to bump “Iron Man.” He’s my favorite Avenger, and it was the first MCU movie I saw. “Guardians of the Galaxy” and “The Winter Soldier” haven’t been around as long, but I bet they will hold up well over time.

“Iron Man 3” and “Ant-Man” ended up basically tied for No. 5. “Ant-Man” was a really fun surprise and it’s my favorite movie of 2015 so far, but I felt like “Iron Man 3” had a more interesting villain so it just slightly edges past “Ant-Man” on the list. Re-watching “Ant-Man” another time might change this, though!

I struggled with where to put “Age of Ultron” on the list and finally settled on No. 9. I wanted to like it a lot more than I did, but I just don’t see myself re-watching it as often as the films above it on the list. I have high hopes for “Captain America: Civil War”; hopefully some of the themes teased in “Age of Ultron” will be more fully fleshed out there.

I know “Iron Man 2” probably shouldn’t be as high as it is on the list, but I’ve just accepted that I seem to like it a lot more than everybody else does. 😉 “The Incredible Hulk” did edge past “Thor: The Dark World.” While I really like the Thor/Loki dynamic in “The Dark World,” I think “The Incredible Hulk” has a better overall plot.

I joked with my husband that I won’t know what to do with my free time now that I’m done with the Marvel movies. 😉 I’m thinking it might be fun to revisit the original “Star Wars” trilogy before “The Force Awakens.”

12 thoughts on “Marvel Blog-a-thon: Wrap-up and revised ranking

  1. Oh goody gumdrops – a blogathon encore, sweet!
    Yes, difficult to decide between GotG and WS – Rocket is th best, but th Winter Soldier himself was so cool and so much more defined than… oh, whatsisface- Ronan!
    Revisit th original SW trilogy MIGHT b fun?! Ha, u’re such a kidder, Ashley! 😉
    Cheers!

  2. I’m not sure how I would rank the movies but I agree with your number 1 – Iron Man (2008). – Also trying to set aside time to watch Star Wars 1-6 prior to December. Own 4-6 and LOVE them! Have to borrow 1-3.

    • Even though Star Wars is my favorite film franchise, it’s actually been a while since I’ve seen them. I’m looking forward to watching them again, and of course to the new one in December. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Yeah the top three are definitely the Marvel films that transcended the typical comic book film and felt like genuine slices of cinema (not to put crap on the others), but personally mine would be Guardians because of how emotional it was and its uniqueness amongst the other films. Came in late but this blog-a-thon was awesome!! jh

    • Thanks for joining in on the blog-a-thon! I really love Guardians and almost bumped it up to No. 1 after watching it for the blog-a-thon. Hopefully Captain America: Civil War will give the franchise a boost!

  4. Pingback: A ‘Marvel-ous’ list: An updated ranking of my favorite Marvel Cinematic Universe films | Box Office Buzz

Leave a Reply

