Marvel Blog-a-thon: My fall blogging project

the-avengers-team-imageEarly fall tends to be a slower time at the box office, so sometimes it’s a bit more challenging to find something to blog about. Last year, I went through my “movie bucket list” and watched and reviewed famous movies I hadn’t seen. This year, I thought it might be fun to take a look back and re-watch the films in one of my favorite movie franchises: the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Those who know me know that I love the Marvel movies *almost* as much as I love Star Wars. I love the characters and watching how the movies all tie together in one overarching storyline. I like how the films are fun and filled with humor, but often still make a deeper impact on an emotional level, as well.

Earlier this year, right before “Age of Ultron” was released, I put together a ranking of the Marvel films. However, I’ve been rethinking this list recently. It’s been a while since I’ve seen some of the movies, and I’ve watched some way more times than others. I thought it might be interesting to re-watch all the Marvel movies, in order, and see if my rankings change. This way, it’ll be easier to compare them to each other.

Before watching “Age of Ultron,” my ranking was (ending with my all-time favorite Marvel film):

10. The Incredible Hulk (2008)
9. Thor: The Dark World (2013)
8. Iron Man 2 (2010)
7. Captain America: The First Avenger (2011)
6. Thor (2011)
5. Iron Man 3 (2013)
4. The Avengers (2012)
3. Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)
2. Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)
1. Iron Man (2008)

I’m thinking some of these will change after I re-watch them; I might have been a bit harsh on “The Incredible Hulk,” and “Guardians” might even take over my No. 1 spot. I’ll also need to expand the list now that there’s 12 Marvel films instead of 10 and plug in “Age of Ultron” and “Ant-Man” (I think “Ant-Man” will end up in the top 6 and “Ultron” in the bottom 6).

Right now I’m planning to review two films at a time, with one blog post a week. I don’t want the project to last forever or overload people with too much Marvel content. 😉 I’m looking forward to watching these films again, and please feel free to share your own thoughts on these films. Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Marvel Blog-a-thon: My fall blogging project

  1. Make way: Brad’s back! 😉
    As Thor was th only 1 of these Avengers I followed as a kid, I like what they’ve done w him in th MCU; he had all th best moments in Age of Ultron.
    Both Avengers movies make it into my Top 5.
    Guardians out on top cos it was just great fun and well worth th risk.
    (Once I’ve got my own copy of Ant-Man, I will let u know!)
    Cheers!

  2. Pingback: The good, the bad and the ugly: Looking back at five years of hits (and misses!) at Box Office Buzz | Box Office Buzz

Leave a Reply

