‘Bait & Switch: A sci-fi Sherlock Holmes’

I apologize in advance for this shameless bit of self-promotion, but I’ve been working on a project for a while that I finally finished and wanted to share about. 😉

I enjoy writing fiction, particularly science fiction and fantasy, and over the past several years I’ve been playing around with a couple of ideas for novels. I’m a huge fan of the BBC TV show “Sherlock,” and I love how they took some of the elements from the classic Sherlock Holmes detective stories and then updated them to modern times. The show captures the essence of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s writings but also adds its own creative twist.

After discovering the BBC’s “Sherlock,” I got to thinking that it might be interesting to try a similar concept, except instead of a modern-day Sherlock Holmes to do a science fiction Sherlock Holmes, blending the styles of the BBC’s “Sherlock” and “Doctor Who.” I wrote a short sci-fi story using the Holmes, Watson and Lestrade characters, and I had so much fun with it that I decided to expand it to a novel.

It’s called “Bait & Switch: A sci-fi Sherlock Holmes,” and it’s now available for download on Amazon.com: www.amazon.com/Bait-Switch-sci-fi-Sherlock-ebook/dp/B00A58SIYM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1353351674&sr=8-1&keywords=Ashley+Bergner+bait+and+switch. Right now the book is solely in Kindle eReader format, but I believe there are apps that can adapt it to other devices: www.amazon.com/gp/feature.html/ref=dig_arl_box?ie=UTF8&docId=1000493771.

A preview of the book is available for free on Amazon, and I also made a book trailer to go along with the novel:

I set the story on a futuristic planet, and Holmes lives in apartment complex 221 in the city’s rundown “Quadrant B.” He works as a consultant for the planet’s “Civic Security” organization, and he becomes friends with Jaymie Watson, a medical student, who ends up helping him solve cases. The novel is divided into six different “cases” that all tie together at the end, as Holmes realizes he’s being manipulated by a certain professor/scientist named James Moriarty.

The cases aren’t based on any particular Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle; rather, I took some of the characters — such as Holmes, Watson, Lestrade, Moriarty, and Mrs. Hudson — and tried to portray what they might be like in a science fiction story. Sherlock Holmes is one of my favorite literary characters, and science fiction is my favorite literary genre, so I thought it might be fun to combine the two.

Anyway, if you’re interested, let me know what you think! 🙂 I appreciate everyone who follows and comments on my blog “Box Office Buzz.” I’ve been blogging with Word Press for about a year, and I’ve really enjoyed writing about movies and reading other bloggers’ entries and reviews, as well. Thanks for reading!

5 thoughts on “‘Bait & Switch: A sci-fi Sherlock Holmes’

Leave a Reply

