Liebster Blog Award

I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award by The Movie Picture Show blog. This is an award that carries some responsibility for those selected. Here are the rules below:

  1. Each person must post 11 things about themselves.
  2. Answer the 11 questions the person giving the award has set for you.
  3. Create 11 questions for the people you will be giving the award to.
  4. Choose 11 people to award and send them a link to your post.
  5. Go to their page and tell them.
  6. No tag backs.

11 things about myself:
1. My all-time favorite movie is “Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back.”
2. The first movie I remember watching in theaters is the Disney animated movie “Aladdin.”
3. The movie I’ve watched the most times is J.J. Abrams’ “Star Trek” reboot (I’ve seen it 13 times so far). 🙂
4. The movie I’ve seen the most times in theaters is Marvel’s “The Avengers” (four times).
5. My favorite actor is Robert Downey Jr., and my favorite actress is Keira Knightley.
6. I’ve got a soft spot for “B movies”: campy movies that are so bad they’re hilarious (like “Santa Claus Conquers the Martians”).
7. My favorite superhero movie is “Iron Man.”
8. I love British TV shows; my favorites are “Doctor Who” and “Downton Abbey.”
9. My hobbies are writing fiction and playing the harp.
10. I’ve been blogging about movies on Word Press for about a year.
11. I work as a journalist at a small-town newspaper.

11 questions from The Movie Picture Show:
1. Who’s your favorite director? Steven Spielberg
2. Name three of the most underrated movies ever? 1) “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” (2005): a great British sci-fi comedy. 2) “Jane Eyre” (2011): it seems like this movie didn’t get talked about a lot when it was released, but it’s a great retelling of one of my favorite novels. Michael Fassbender is amazing in this movie, but then again, when is he ever NOT amazing in a movie? 😉 3) “Monsters, Inc.” (2001): it’s not talked about as often as some of Pixar’s other movies, like “Toy Story,” but it’s one of my personal favorites.
3. Name three of the most overrated movies ever? 1) “Twilight”: I have nothing against fans who really love this movie, but I’m still not quite sure what all the hype is about. I’ve seen the first movie one time, and that was enough for me. 2) “Titanic”: it’s a good movie with genuinely epic special effects, but the plot was not as good as it could have been. 3) “Avatar”: same as “Titanic.”
4. What’s your favorite horror movie? I’m not a big fan of horror films in general, but I’d probably have to say “Shaun of the Dead,” because it’s also funny, and I love Simon Pegg.
5. Name a movie that you thought you’d hate, but ended up loving? No one who knows me now will probably believe this, but originally I didn’t really have an interest in seeing “Star Wars.” However, it didn’t take long to change my mind, and I soon fell in love with the saga and now I’m a huge “Star Wars” fan. 😉
6. Movie with the best visual effects, 3D not included. This is a tough one to narrow down. Probably “Lord of the Rings.”
7. If you like movies about politics, which one is your favorite? I really liked “The Ghost Writer” with Ewan McGregor.
8. Favorite one-liner in film? “Do or do not… there is no try.” – Yoda in “The Empire Strikes Back”
9. What are three of the worst clichés in movies? 1) Love triangles that aren’t really love triangles because you can spot which two characters are going to end up together from a mile away. 2) Evil henchmen who never seem to be as competent (or as good shots as) the hero. 3) The use of the “shaky camera” film making style. It can be a neat effect if used for a minute or two and really makes you feel like you’re a part of the action. But if it’s used too much, it makes the movie hard to watch, and it can be a little disorienting.
10. If you could change one thing about movies, what would you change? I wish Hollywood would remember more often that great special effects alone don’t make a great movie. I love big-budget action films, but you have to have good character development and a creative plot to go along with the visual effects.
11. What would you want to see more in movies? I’d like to see more sci-fi movies in general, and I’d like to see directors take on creative, new projects.

11 questions for my blog award nominees:
1. What’s your favorite superhero movie?
2. Name a film that almost everyone loves but you can’t stand.
3. What do you think of 3D: is it a cool special effect that adds to your movie-watching experience, or just a shameless cash grab by movie studios?
4. Who is the greatest actor or actress of our generation?
5. Name a movie you’d want to remake and why.
6. What is your all-time favorite movie?
7. What actor or actress would you want to play yourself if someone made a movie about your life?
8. What’s the first movie you remember watching in theaters?
9. What’s the movie you’ve watched the most times?
10. What’s your biggest film pet peeve?
11. Overall, which do you think are more successful: sequels or remakes?

I’m passing my award nominations to (I wasn’t sure what the qualifications for nominating blogs were, so I selected some blogs that I enjoy following):
1. Ian the Cool
2. Andy Watches Movies
3. Cinema Wolf
4. Mel Rook & the 7 Deadly Sins
5. Film Daze
6. Fogs’ Movie Reviews
7. PG Cooper’s Movie Reviews
8. DVD Critics Corner
9. Cinema 365
10. One Girl Geek
11. Raving Mad Scientists

6 thoughts on “Liebster Blog Award

Leave a Reply

