Is the resurgence in ‘3-D’ worth the hype?

When Disney re-released “The Lion King” in 3-D, I jumped at the chance to see it, though not because of the fact it was in 3-D.

“The Lion King” was one of the very first movies I remember seeing in theaters when I was a kid, and some friends and I wanted to go see it again up on the big screen and relive some childhood memories. It was fun to see it again in the theater, but as for the addition of 3-D to film, I could honestly take it or leave it.

The 3-D trend was big in the 1950s and then died away, but then seemed to return in full force after James Cameron’s mega-hit “Avatar.” Now it seems like almost every film is being released in 3-D.

Maybe I’m just skeptical because it seems like this is a way to raise already high ticket prices even higher. I’ve seen a handful of 3-D movies, and at least for me, the result seems to be the same. It’s a fun technique at first, and I really notice the apparent addition of depth and things that “pop out” at you from the screen. But as the movie goes on, I get so wrapped up in the plot I forget to notice the 3-D.

When I watch a regular movie, I don’t find myself thinking it looks really flat because it’s two-dimensional. I think our brains already compensate for that and make the flat image look like it has depth, even though it doesn’t.

I saw “Avatar” in 2-D and 3-D, and the CGI blew me away both times. I didn’t feel like I needed to spend a couple extra bucks just to see it in 3-D. George Lucas will be re-releasing “Star Wars” in 3-D, and I’m really looking forward to seeing the films on the big screen, but, once again, not necessarily because they’re in 3-D.

So far, there’s only been one film (“Tron: Legacy”) that I felt was worth paying extra money to see in IMAX 3-D rather than standard 2-D. The CGI really popped on this film, and it was really impressive seeing it in IMAX.

What do you think? Are you willing to pay extra money to see a film in 3-D?

Leave a Reply

